Mike Tellin's review for 2012 Cleveland International Piano Competiiton for young artists
Vanessa Meiling Haynes, a freshman at Indiana University High School in Bloomington, Indiana, the final contestant in Junior division, opened with a well balanced and articulated account of the first movement, Allegro assai from the Sonata No. 23 in minor, Op. 57 Appassionata of Beethoven, full of dynamic contrasts. Ms. Haynes possesses a dark, rich, large tone and an impressive technique, which she used to her full advantage during her second selection, Chopin’s Etude Op. 25, No. 11 “Winter Wind”.
<April 2021>

Download Code

Redeem your download code here. You will need to sign in or create an account to receive your files. Thanks & enjoy!

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Vanessa Meiling Haynes to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.


Beethoven: Sonata for Piano no 23 in F minor, Op. 57 "Appassionata"
Chopin: Etudes (12) for Piano, Op. 25
Beethoven: Sonata for Piano no 23 in F minor, Op. 57 "Appassionata"

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore